h1

[Tips] Why Foundations/Moisturizers with SPF Aren’t Enough

March 6, 2014

20140305_075815In recent years, most foundations, face primers, powders, and moisturizers all contain at least 15 SPF. There will always be exceptions, as many don’t like to have SPF in their face products (thanks to the notorious white cast that happens in flash photography). But the amount of products with SPF is overwhelming. Since there are so many options, I, like many others I’m sure, was glad to see that I could count on my foundation and moisturizer to have me covered when it comes to SPF. I don’t want to worry about getting skin cancer, aging early, or any other complications that come from sun exposure, so I always make sure I have some SPF on.

A couple of days ago, I found out that what I have been believing about SPF in foundations/moisturizers is completely false! While it’s true the SPF in these products will HELP protect your skin from the sun, it simple isn’t enough!! I was appalled…here I thought I had been protecting myself from the sun for a long time…but really I wasn’t doing enough to lessen my chances of early signs of aging.

And just to clarify, you need to wear sunscreen everyday! Not just when it’s sunny or when you will be outside for a long period of time. It’s important all of the time because the sun’s rays are still hitting your exposed skin, even if it’s cloudy and even if you aren’t outside for long. I’m rarely ever outside longer than it takes to walk to my car/house…but I’m still wearing sun protection daily. I read a study recently about how skin cancer is more likely in the left-hand side of the body. Why? Because that’s the side that faces the window when we drive! And since most people spend a considerable amount of time driving their cars…well, it spikes their chances of skin cancer.

Anyway, all of this is to say that you need to be wearing a sunscreen daily…not just a moisturizer/primer/foundation with SPF. You’d have to use around 7 times the amount of foundation and 14 times the amount of moisturizer you usually use in order to actually get the SPF benefits listed on the product’s packaging (source). A lot of face products only have SPF 15 or SPF 20 anyway….

That being said: look for a sunscreen you can use daily. A sunscreen. Something that offers sun protection and basically nothing else. I currently use the Yes To Cucumbers SPF 30 sunscreen, pictured above. I really like it! I’d recommend it to anyone who has lighter toned skin. If you’re darker skinned, this may not be the best because the product is white and makes the skin a bit lighter. This doesn’t really affect me since I’m already pale, and I put it on before my foundation and concealer so no one can tell. You may need to experiment with a few before you find one that works for you for daily use.

I’m not saying you should forgo the SPF makeup entirely, though. Using a foundation or moisturizer with an SPF is a great way to beef up your skin’s sun protection. Just don’t rely on makeup and moisturizers alone! (Remember to wear an SPF lip balm under all of your glosses and lip colors too!) I use the Simple Light moisturizer and Covergirl 3-in-1 foundation shown above. These are my go-to products at the moment, though I do rotate my foundation/BB cream a lot! The moisturizer has an SPF of 15 and I think the foundation’s SPF is 20!

Thanks for reading!

 

Leave a Reply

