h1

[First Impressions] Maybelline Dream Wonder Powder

March 4, 2014

maybelline dream wonderSo I saw this new Maybelline product a few days ago (and had heard about it online before then). I decided I wanted to give it a go, even though I have quite enough pressed powder =) (That reminds me, I should be writing a review of a powder I’ve been using a lot, like Revlon Colorstay and Em Cosmetics Pressed Powder…those will be forthcoming!)

Anyway, I wanted to give this one a go since I’m always looking for a good powder (I get really oily…). I’ve used this powder for a couple of days now. I always dab it under my eyes with a flat foundation brush and dab it on the rest of my face with a sponge. I also use it for touch ups throughout the day.

First of all, I can say that this powder has a very interesting texture! It is SO soft and smooth…it doesn’t even really feel like a powder! It’s really hard to describe just how it feels…it kind of reminds me of the Em Cosmetics powder actually, except this one is even more like silk. It’s not chalky at all, and it does provide some light coverage (you can see this in the picture above, where I have it swatched on my finger).

The powder goes on very nicely when applied with a sponge. I tried dipping a powder brush in it too, but that didn’t work as well. When I used the sponge, I could tell it was mattifying my skin, giving it a nice, smooth, nearly flawless finish. My skin will never be flawless, no matter how amazing the powder/foundation is, so that’s why I say nearly flawless =)  It does seem to help cover up some areas that maybe need a bit more attention, and it helps to make my pores less noticeable. It doesn’t cling to my dry patches.

As for staying power, I must say I’m am seriously an oil slick no matter what I use. Some products work better than others for this, of course, and I think this one works better! I do need to touch up during the day, several times, but that’s normal for me. The only time I notice this powder clinging to anything is when I use acne medication on spots that pop up. This medication is VERY drying, so I don’t blame it on the powder. I feel like I can touch up with this and not have to worry that it’s going to look too cakey.

The powder comes with a mirror and a sponge, which is nice. I also like the packaging. It’s not too bulky.

All in all, I’d say my first impression/review of this product is a very positive one! I hope I’ll continue loving it. If I don’t, I’ll be sure to write an updated review.

When I picked this up at the supermarket, I also picked up some new EcoTools eye brushes and the new (I think it’s new?) Wet n Wild Megalast pencil eyeliner. Then while couponing at the drugstore, I picked up the Physician’s Formula Organic Wear tinted moisturizer. These are a few of the products I’m planning to write first impressions/reviews for, so be on the look-out for those!

Pros: compact, comes with mirror and place for sponge, SMOOTH texture, mattifies well
Cons: have to reapply (but I think that’s just me, with ANY powder)
Verdict: Buy it!

Thanks for reading!

Leave a Reply

