h1

What’s in My Makeup Bag? Tag!

May 14, 2013

Okay, so here is my first real video for this channel! I plan on having blog posts to accompany most of my videos–most of the time they’ll just supply some additional information or anything I left out in the video.

Since this is just a tag video, it’s pretty straight forward so there isn’t much to elaborate on. I may ramble a bit below though =P

I always carry that Maybelline foundation with me. While it is not my favorite foundation, I do think it works pretty well, and it is completely mess free. So it’s great for on the go and for when I’m in a hurry. Most mornings I don’t have time to get ready for work and do a full face of makeup with liquid foundation or a BB cream, so this product always comes in handy. I actually do my makeup in the car on the way to work most mornings (xD), so this makes it super easy. I’ve  been using this foundation since high school, so it’s been around in my makeup collection for at least 6-7 years, and I have repurchased it many times! I do notice that it clings to the few dry spots on my face (most of my skin is oily though). This usually happens on days that I don’t have time to really cleanse my skin, so as long as I take care of exfoliating and hydrating my skin, it usually works better.

I’ve been using The Real Deal concealer consistently for almost a year now. I purchased that concealer last summer, and while I don’t use it every single day, it is my go-to concealer so I have used it more than any of my other ones. I’m surprised that it has lasted so long. My tube is so full; it’s like I haven’t even used hardly any of it. Since it’s a serious coverage concealer, it only takes a little bit to cover up everything! So while I was not really happy about paying $20 for one product (I’m a total drugstore makeup junkie), at least it is clearly going to last me a LONG time before I have to repurchase. As I said in the video, my cat bit a hole in the tube and product was leaking out into my makeup bag. I put scotch tape on it…so hopefully it will hold.

I really, really, really like that Almay eyeliner. I find that I end up using up the eyeliner side of the stick before the highlighter side, so I end up with leftover highlighter. I do like the highlighter, but be aware that it definitely has glitter in it. But, I like glitter, so it works =P I know a lot of people don’t like glitter in their highlighters, so if you are one of those people, this is probably a product you will want to avoid. This product is from the “wake up” line, so I assume this is why there is glitter in it. The glitter helps to catch the light and reflect it, making you look more awake I guess. The eyeliner itself also has some sparkles in it, but they are not noticeable when you put it on your eye. I’ve bought three of these so far! It works best on the water line, but it can be used for the upper lid too. I recommend using it on your water line first before your eyelid; this helps to warm the product up and make it glide better on the upper lid.

I don’t really have much to say about the two eyeshadows mentioned. I think they are both really pigmented and work really well, especially together. I love the Mink shade and I also like the black one since it’s really sparkly! I do wear a primer under them and that definitely helps to keep them on longer. I have a huge creasing problem, even when I wear primers and good eyeshadows. But I don’t’ usually get creases until I’ve had the makeup on for a long time, so it’s to be expected.

The L’Oreal True Match powder is good because it provides some coverage, so I especially like to wear this on days where I’m wearing a lighter coverage foundation. It is quite pigmented, which means a little goes a long way. This is the sole problem I have with the product, and it isn’t a fault of the product, just that I always get too much of it on my sponge!

I also don’t have much to say about the lip gloss. I like the color, and I do like the tingly feeling it gives you (since it’s supposed to plump your lips). I don’t really notice it plumping my lips, but I don’t really look at it that much after I put it on. I don’t carry this with me everyday; I switch between all of my lip products. More often than not, I have a red-colored Baby Lips product in my bag or just a clear gloss since I’m not really big on lip color!

The ELF makeup remover pen is a great idea, and I do like it. But I definitely recommend wiping off the tip after using it. If you use it to remove dark makeup and then use it again later, you will smudge that dark makeup that is on the tip of the pen onto your skin. So wipe the tip off before using it again to avoid this.

The ELF zip zapper is nice; I’m not quite sure if it really gets rid of zits. When I need acne spot treatment, I usually use a Clean and Clear product instead, but this tube is easier to take with me. I mostly have it in case I get random acne or a bug bite. The zit zapper has Witch Hazel in it, which I love to use on my skin to soothe it, even if it doesn’t get rid of the acne completely.

The Revlon Photoready concealer is not my favorite. I know it has gotten pretty good reviews, but it doesn’t work that well for me. I think the shade I have may be too light for my skin, but I use it to brighten the under eye area anyway so I guess that works! It just seems to set into creases worse than some other concealers. But I still like it enough to keep it in my bag in case I need a lighter concealer!

As for the sunscreen, I’m really liking it so far. I was looking for a sunscreen that didn’t have oxybenzone in it. This chemical is actually really bad for your skin and has been shown to increase your risk for skin cancer (which is exactly what you’re supposed to be preventing…) so I try to avoid it. It’s actually really hard to find a good sunscreen that does not have this chemical. I also wanted two different sunscreens, one for my face and one for my body. I chose the YesTo Cucumbers sunscreen as my face sunscreen since it is more of a “natural” product than most sunscreens (but is by no means a true natural or organic product xD but still, it’s better than most). It smells kind of like cucumbers, which I like since I hate how normal sunscreen smells. It’s SPF 30, which is a good SPF to have. I used to look for SPF 75, and that was the highest at the time. Now there is SPF 100 and 110…which is just plain stupid. I just want to let everyone know that you really shouldn’t be using sunscreen above SPF 50 to begin with, and products that say they are SPF 100 and 110 are most likely lying, since you cannot be 100% protected from the sun just by using sunscreen. The only way to really protect yourself 100% from the sun is to never go out in it! So definitely look for a sunscreen without oxybenzone; they’re better for you! (Also, be aware that this sunscreen can kind of make you look paler. This isn’t a problem for me since I love pale, but it may not work for all skin tones!)

Randoms:

Currently: watching a Minecraft stream on Twitch TV (gaming is another passion of mine!)

I have the munchies. I may just have to give in after this post and eat some Cheeze-Itz while I watch K-dramas.

I’m currently watching The Moon that Embraces the Sun (Kdrama). It’s awesome. Watching another episode after this post. =)

Thank you for reading! More to come soon.

– Ryn

2 comments

  1. Great video :).

    – KW
    http://musthaveboxes.com


    • Thank you!!



Leave a Reply

